Awards and Certificates

  • Top 25
  • Top 50
  • Leader
  • Leader 2
  • Trademark

Technical translation: Lack Of Personnel

2015-01-12

Technical translation is known to be the most difficult kinds of written translation. Because a translator has to cope with a really hard task: to translate the technical text skilfully and correctly, and, in addition, not to lose the meaning or make sad mistakes which may lead not only to damage of the equipment but endanger health or even life of people.

For that reason, a technical translator should first of all be a perfect proficient, seek for continuous development and self-improvement and learn more about any technical innovations. And surely he or she must know the source and the target languages.

Here we have a natural question: where can we find such specialists? This is a very hard task. Let us explain why.

  • FirstNot all ‘technicians’ know foreign languages well enough to work as translators. And not all translators, even if they know the foreign language perfectly, are able to understand the newest technologies coming on our market or, as it often happens, the innovations which have not reached our consumer yet.
  • SecondlyIt is extremely difficult to find a competent technical translation specialist. The market is overloaded with so-called translators who qualify their specialty as ‘professional technical translation’, but practically they only imagine themselves to be technical translators naively thinking that knowing a foreign language and using a technical dictionary will help they cope with any technical translations easily. The main task of a technical translation company here is: to identify true specialists among a lot of incompetent translators, ‘to sift out’ the easy money hunters and to choose though one but a really worthwhile technical translator!
  • ThirdlyEven if such specialist is found, and he or she is a pro both in technical equipment and in translation, not every company can afford to pay for his/her work. Highly skilled workers are worth good money while quite often they do not get enough pay for their work. It is unlikely that a sought-after employee will agree to work for a small remuneration. And even if he or she agrees to do so, it will be a kind of a freelance work, perhaps in the evenings – after he or she finished the working day in the place of employment – or at the weekends. It is doubtful that a company will be happy with the slow pace of such employee or his/her refusing to take urgent translations.

As we see, the technical translators shortage is a severe issue for today, and the translation services market experiences a real ‘hunger’ for technical translators which can hardly be satisfied as soon as we want it.

Награды и сертификаты

  • Топ 25
  • Топ 50
  • Лидер отрасли
  • Лидер отрасли 2
  • Торговая марка

ТЕХНИЧЕСКИЙ ПЕРЕВОД: «КАДРОВЫЙ ГОЛОД»

2012-11-24

Как известно, технический перевод считается самым сложным из всех видов письменных переводов. Ведь перед сотрудниками бюро переводов стоит задача не из лёгких: не только красиво и грамотно перевести технический текст, но и при этом не потерять его смысла и не допустить досадных ошибок, которые могут привести не только к поломке техники, но и к нанесению ущерба здоровью и даже жизни человека.

Поэтому переводчик, занимающийся переводами технических текстов, в первую очередь должен быть отличным специалистом в своей области, стремиться постоянно развиваться, самосовершенствоваться и узнавать о всех новшествах технического мира. Ну и, само собой, он должен знать иностранный язык, с которого или на который будет осуществлять перевод.

Возникает закономерный вопрос: где взять такие кадры? Эта задача не из простых. Объясним почему.

  • Во-первых,

    не все «технари» знают иностранный язык, тем более в такой мере, которая необходима для работы переводчиком. И не все переводчики, даже при глубоком знании иностранного языка, могут разобраться в новейших технологиях, которые приходят на наш рынок, а зачастую – которые даже ещё не дошли до нашего потребителя.

  • Во-вторых,

    грамотного специалиста в сфере технических переводов найти крайне сложно. При обилии на рынке труда так называемых переводчиков, которые называют свою специальность «профессиональный технический перевод», на деле оказывается, что все эти «кадры» просто мнят себя таковыми, наивно думая, что при хорошем знании иностранного языка и наличии словаря специальных технических терминов, можно легко и просто браться за любые технические переводы. Здесь основная задача бюро технических переводов такова: распознать истинных специалистов в массе некомпетентных переводчиков, «отсеять» искателей лёгких денег и выбрать пусть одного, но действительно стоящего технического переводчика!

  • В-третьих,

    даже если нашёлся такой специалист, который будет профи и в технике, и в переводах, не всякое бюро сможет оплатить его труд. Хороший специалист стоит хороших денег, а работа технического специалиста зачастую оплачивается не в достаточной мере. За небольшую зарплату такой востребованный сотрудник вряд ли согласится работать. А если и согласится, то при условии работы фрилансером, да и то – по вечерам, после окончания рабочего дня на своём основном месте работы, или по выходным. Медленный темп работы такого сотрудника и отказ от срочных переводов вряд ли устроит бюро переводов.

Таким образом, как мы видим, проблема с кадрами по техническому переводу на сегодняшний день стоит достаточно остро, а на рынке переводческих услуг существует самый настоящий «кадровый голод» технических переводчиков, утолить который вряд ли удастся так скоро, как бы нам того хотелось.